Danish Design Award 2016

When thinking about Danish design, the first thing that often comes to mind is the iconic furniture from the 1950s and 1960s. The annual Danish Design award 2016 theme was ”The New Golden Age”, a tribute to aesthetically, technically and functionally ground-breaking Danish design. The award for Furniture of the Year went to the Norwegian design duo Anderssen & Voll for their reinterpretation of a classic Erik Jørgensen design. The Hector sofa won the award for being this year’s most aesthetic, functional and technically designed piece of furniture. The award for Lamp of the Year went to the Danish designer Øivind Alexander Slaatto for his Patera design, produced by Louis Poulsen, and Design of the year went to Patricia Urquiola´s design for manufacturer Georg Jensen. Other award winners 2016 were: Most Innovative of the Year: OeO Studio, Designer of the Year: Norm Architects, Comeback of the Year: CH22, manufacturer Carl Hansen & Søn, Craftsman of the Year: Vibeke Fonnesberg Schmidt, Store of the Year: Stylepaste, Aarhus, Smart-home of the Year: Storm System, Company: oneA, Most Passionate of the Year: Mette & Rolf Hay, Upcoming Designer of the year: Laura Bilde. Credit: DANISH™

bilde2Furniture of the year: Hector sofa by Anderssen & Voll for Erik Jørgensen.

bilde1Comeback of the Year: CH22 by Carl Hansen & Søn.

bilde3Store of the Year: Stylepaste, Aarhus.



bilde-4Design of the year: Patricia Urquiola for Georg Jensen

bilde5Designer of the Year: Norm Architects.

lampe3Lamp of the Year: Patera lamp by Øivind Alexander Slaatto for Louis Poulsen.